Marfa Dialogues

Ballroom Marfa 10 Year Benefit Auction & Dinner 2013

8 April 2013

From the Desert to the City: Ballroom Marfa Celebrates 10 Years
Monday, 8 April 2013
Center 548 · West 22nd St. · New York City

Ballroom Marfa’s Co-Founders, Virginia Lebermann and Fairfax Dorn, along with the Board of Trustees, kindly request that you mark your calendar and make plans to join us in New York City to commemorate ten years of presenting art, film, performance and music in West Texas and beyond. The event will feature both a live and silent auction by world-renowned artists from Ballroom’s past and future as well as musical performances throughout the evening.

Co-Founders: Fairfax Dorn and Virginia Lebermann, Sue Hostetler, Matthew Day Jackson, Jenny Laird, Charles Ruger, Allison Sarofim, Anne-Cecilie Engell Speyer, Gordon VeneKlasen and Leo Villareal


6:30 pm Cocktail reception and silent auction
Harmonica by Norris Bennet and Boxing by Skender Halili
Performance by Tuna Nut

8:00pm Dinner with performance by Mick Barr
Live auction hosted by auctioneer Jamie Niven, Chairman Sotheby’s of The Americas

Starting March 27th, pre-bid online and preview works at

10:00pm After-party with special performance by YACHT, followed by DJ set from Saheer Umar

Download Ballroom Marfa 10 Year Benefit Invite

Ballroom Marfa is a creative force in the contemporary arts community founded in the fall of 2003 in Marfa, Texas, by Virginia Lebermann and Fairfax Dorn, as a non-profit center for public exploration of contemporary art and culture. Over the past decade, Ballroom Marfa has worked with over 200 artists; produced 28 internationally recognized exhibitions; hosted over 100 music concerts; worked with 130 filmmakers and collaborated with Art Production Fund to realize Elmgreen & Dragset’s Prada Marfa (2005). In 2013 Ballroom Marfa accelerates its pace of programming to include the development and future construction of the Ballroom Marfa Drive-In and the third Marfa Dialogues, initiating a discussion about climate change and environmental crisis through cultural practices and artistic works in New York City in fall 2012,the program will include an exhibition and a grants program in partnership with the Robert Rauschenberg Foundation along with supporting projects by institutions and organizations in the New York metropolitan area. Ballroom Marfa continues its mission of supporting artists to produce and enable significant works and host unforgettable performances impossible to realize anywhere else. At the frontier of the extraordinary, Ballroom Marfa returns to New York City to commemorate ten years as a leading non-profit cultural arts organization. All proceeds will go towards continuing Ballroom Marfa’s innovative programming in Marfa and beyond.

For more information, please call MF Productions at 212.243.7300 or email

Participating Artists Maryam Amiryani, Solange Azagury-Partridge, Campbell Bosworth, Liz Cohen, Enrico David, Matthew Day Jackson, Agnes Denes, Dennis Hopper Art Trust, Elmgreen & Dragset, Skylar Fein, Teresita Fernández, Dan Finsel, Jason Fox, Adam Helms, Arturo Herrera, Teresa Hubbard / Alexander Birchler, Scott Hug, Rashid Johnson, Barbara Kasten, Nina Katchadourian, Rachel Khedoori, Liz Larner, Simone Leigh, Loren Madsen, James Magee, Teresa Margolles, michael najjar, Karyn Olivier, Erik Parker, Adam Pendleton, Lucy Raven, Pedro Reyes, Steve Roden, Aïda Ruilova, Jonathan Schipper, Allison Smith, Allison V. Smith, Dan Tague, William Villalongo, Leo Villareal, Paul Villinski, Charline von Heyl, Robert Wilson

Benefit Committee Jowhara AlSaud, Pablo Alvarado, Janet & Larry Band, Diane Barnes & Jon Otis, Jeannette Montgomery Barron & James Barron, Katharine Barthelme, Genevieve & Christopher Bass, Jeff Beauchamp, Suzanne Deal Booth & David G. Booth, Stephana Bottom, Frances Bowes, James Keith Brown & Eric Diefenbach, Pamela & David Cameron, Lea Carpenter & Cliff Brokaw, Joanne Leonhardt Cassullo, Mrs. Eleanor Cayre, Lauren & Porter Collins, Lisa Cooley, Peter Corsell, Susan Courtemanche & Robert Coleman, Alison & Richard Crowell, Tim Crowley, Julie & Markley Crosswell, David Kordansky Gallery, Los Angeles, CA, Nathalie & Charles de Gunzburg, Dirk Denison & David Salkin, John & Lisa Dorn, Holbrook Dorn, Jeff Fort Sabrina Franzheim, Alexander Gilkes, Paddle8, Allison B. Gray, Deborah Green & Clayton Aynesworth, Agnes Gund, Robert Hammond, Doug Hanson, Amy Harmon, Hilary & Peter Hatch, Christopher C. Hill & Rodolfo Choperena, Horizon Foundation / Rod & Nancy Sanders, Alex Hurst, Michael Jenkins, John Josephson & Carolina Zapf, Paul Judelson / I-20, Courtney Slatten Katzenstein, Molly O. Kemp, Jeanne & Michael L. Klein, Philae Knight, Matt & Mikelle Kruger, Charles Mary Kubricht & Ron Sommers, Trey Laird, Kate & Jack LaGere, Pierre Lagrange, Tobin Levy, John S. Lyons, Laura Mylott Manning & Obadiah Wilford, Marianne Boesky Gallery, David Maupin, Diane & Adam E. Max, Rebekah McCabe, McCa-rey Fine Art, Marlene N. Meyerson, David & Fredericka Middleton, Ross Moody, Donald Mullins, Mrs. Nancy Brown Negley, Bob Nickas, Louise O’Connor, Catherine A. Orentreich, MD / Orentreich Family Foundation, Mr. Christian Patry & Ms. Rebecca Savoie, Cindy & Howard Rachofsky, Ginger Reeder, Janelle Reiring, Doreen Remen, Lora Reynolds & Quincy Lee, Kadee Robbins, Liz Robbins, Mary Robbins, Isha Rogers, Lela Rose, Alexa Rudulfo, Virginia Rutledge, Tracey Ryans, Helen Lee Schifter, Sophie Crichton Stuart, Suzanne Tick, Libby Tilley, Tito’s Handmade Vodka, Cynthia Toles, Darren Walker & David Beitzel, George & Nancy Walker, Catherine Walsh, Adam D. Weinberg, Candace Worth, John Wotowicz, Robin A. Zendell
List in formation as of February 21, 2013

    See photos and press from the Ballroom Marfa 10 Year Benefit Auction & Dinner at DuJour, The Wall Street Journal, Billy Farrell Agency, Patrick McMullan, Getty Images and Hanuk.