Marfa Dialogues

The Reading 2011

26 March 2011

The Reading
March 26, 2011
Performances at 3 pm and 8 pm
Crowley Theater

Online reservations have closed. Limited standby seating available at the door.

We are pleased to announce the launch of The Reading, a professionally staged screenplay presentation that, in its inaugural year, places the spotlight on screenwriter Andrew Lanham’s script, The Jumper of Maine. This script garnered Lanham a prestigious 2010 Nicholl Fellowship in Screenwriting, presented annually by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Ballroom Marfa’s distinguished Filmmakers’ Selection Committee of Academy Award winning screenwriter Diana Ossana, executive producer and screenwriter Andrew Marlowe, and pioneering agent, entertainment executive and Producer Robert Shapiro selected The Jumper of Maine from the group of 2010 Nicholl Fellowship winners. It is the story of a paramedic with Tourette’s Syndrome forced to come to terms with his life and condition when he falls in love.

The Reading will be directed by Dallas-based veteran director/actor John S. Davies and produced by Carolyn Pfeiffer and Nancy Sanders. A stellar cast from Dallas and Marfa includes Drew Wall, playing the lead role of “Oliver.” Wall is currently a producing partner and resident artist of Second Thought Theatre in Dallas and received the Outstanding Performance as an Actor Award by the DFW Critics Forum (2009), was named Best Young Actor by the Dallas Observer (2009), and won the Best Male Supporting Performance from D Magazine/Best in Theater (2010).

The role of Meredith has been awarded to Dallas veteran actress, Angie Bolling. With a resume including roles in Friday Night Lights, Swingtown, Prison Break, Walker Texas Ranger, RoboCop 3, Dallas, and A Woman of Independent Means, Bolling is a seasoned professional in both the film and theatre worlds.

The considerable talents of local Marfa actors will also be on display. Harry Hudson, Susannah Lipsey, Camille Willaford, Felix Benton, Cory Van Dyke, Jennie Lyn Hamilton, Steve Holzer, Sam Schonzeit, and James Rodewald will perform significant roles in this anticipated Ballroom presentation.

Screenwriter Andrew Lanham, in the final year of the graduate MFA program at The University of Texas at Austin, also took top honors at the 2010 Austin Film Festival for his script. “I am truly delighted for The Jumper of Maine to have been selected for The Reading. It is an honor not only for my script to have been chosen for such a unique opportunity, but to be welcomed into the Marfa community as well,” says Lanham.

On March 26, 2011, Ballroom Marfa will present two performances of the screenplay at the Crowley Theater (at 3:00 P.M. and 8:00 P.M), each followed by a panel discussion with the screenwriter Lanham and director Davies, moderated by the former head of Warner Studios, Robert Shapiro. As seating is limited, reservations are advised.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting is considered by many as the world’s most esteemed screenwriting competition. Each year up to five $30,000 fellowships are awarded to authors who have previously earned less than $5,000 writing for film or television. Established with the intent of helping struggling screenwriters focus on improving their craft, the Fellowships are awarded with the understanding that the recipients will each complete a feature-length screenplay during their fellowship year. Previous winners have included Susannah Grant, who went on to earn an Academy Award nomination for her original screenplay Erin Brockovich; Pulitzer Prize winner Jeffrey Eugenides; Andrew Marlowe, Executive Producer and writer for ABC’s hit show Castle and screenwriter behind Air Force One; and many more.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ executive director Bruce Davis calls the Ballroom Marfa presentation “a new and intriguing wrinkle in the Nicholl Fellowships,” and says “the Academy is watching the inaugural program with interest.”

Stay tuned for more details, and check out what The Hollywood Reporter, Variety, MovieMaker, PaperCity, Texas Monthly, Film Radar, Art on Art, The Society Diplomat, Brilliant Magazine, The Daily Texan, The Austin Chronicle, and Houston Press said about the event!

    Listen to Marfa Public Radio’s Talk at Ten interview with The Jumper of Maine screenwriter Andrew Lanham and producer Carolyn Pfeiffer.

    Listen to Marfa Public Radio’s Talk at Ten interview with esteemed producer and Filmmakers’ Selection Committee member, Robert Shapiro.

    See what The Hollywood Reporter, Variety, MovieMaker, Art on Art, Texas Monthly, Film Radar, The Society Diplomat, Brilliant Magazine, PaperCity, and The Austin Chronicle said about the event.

    Read the interview with The Jumper of Maine screenwriter, Andrew Lanham in The Daily Texan and Houston Press (written by Troy Schulze).

    Listen to the interview with Andrew Lanham on Script Magazine.

    The Reading was recently featured in Alan Peppard’s column in The Dallas Morning News. Download the PDF.

    Produced by Carolyn Pfeiffer and Nancy Sanders. Directed by John S. Davies.

    Lighting design by Robert Crowley. Sound design by Gory Smelley.

    The Reading has been made possible through the cooperation of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting. Generous support provided by Tim Crowley, Marfa, TX and The Horizon Foundation, Plano, TX.

    Special thanks to Jennifer Bell; The Big Bend Sentinel; Carla Click of the Texas Film Commission; Steve Casey; Crowley Theater; Ginger Griffice; Alberto Halpern; Hotel Paisano; Shelley Hudson; John Langdon; Maiya’s Restaurant; Marfa EMS; Marfa Industries; Marfa Public Radio; Marfa Recording Company; Marfa Table; Alex Marks; Carri McClure & Darren Miller, McClure & Associates Public Relations; Luis Nieto Dickens; Suzanne Droese & Josh Madans, Rest + Revolution Public Relations; Mary Lou Saxon; John Storm; and Thunderbird Hotel.

    With much gratitude to The Reading’s 2011 Filmmakers’ Selection Committee: Andrew Marlowe, Diana Ossana, and Robert Shapiro.