Ballroom Marfa Art Fund
Loading Events



MXTX — A Cross-Border Exchange

4 Sep, 7 PM


Marfa Visitor Center
Marfa, TX

Music Commission

Ballroom Marfa invites you to join us for a free premiere of MXTX: A Cross-Border Exchange on Sunday, September 4 at the Marfa Visitor Center. 

MXTX is a live performance, album and open-source audio sample library crossing physical and social boundaries through collaborative exchange. The project involves more than 40 DJ-producers and composers from both sides of the Rio Grande. A collective of the contributing musicians will travel to Marfa to take the stage for the West Texas Premiere of the project as part of the 35th annual Marfa Lights Festival.

The multifaceted and dynamic project is a collaboration of numerous Texas and Mexico-based artists including:

  • Golden Hornet, an Austin-based non-profit led by Graham Reynolds
  • Orión García, founder of the Latinx DJ/producer/artist collective, Peligrosa
  • Coka Treviño, art entrepreneur from Monterrey, Mexico and founder of The Projecto
  • Felipe Pérez Santiago, highly-acclaimed Mexico City composer, sound artist and current artist in residence at California’s SETI Institute
  • Ramón Amezcua “Bostich” of the groundbreaking Nortec Collective, based in Tijuana
  • Rubén Albarrán, renowned vocalist and activist from Mexico City, lead singer of the legendary Cafe Tacvba
  • Gabriela Ortiz, Latin Grammy nominated composer and recipient of Mexico’s National Prize for Arts & Literature

MXTX began with the creation of a sample library commissioned from twenty composers and twenty DJ-producers based in Mexico and Texas. These forty artists created a palette of sound designed to represent each of their perspectives. The DJ-producers provided beats, drops, and more, while the composers created melodic, rhythmic, and chordal fragments to be recorded as segments and loops. All of these sounds formed the initial foundation of the MXTX library. A core group of six composers and six DJ-producers, commissioned with balanced geographical representation, used this library to create twelve songs. Created for a mixed chamber ensemble and a DJ, the twelve works will be presented live, with premieres in Marfa, Mexico City, and Austin.

The MXTX: A Cross-Border Exchange album was released through Six Degrees Records in 2022 and consists of thirteen songs that demonstrate the immense beauty and power of music to overcome divides. Presented as part of the Marfa Lights Festival, the show at the Marfa Visitor Center will be the second live performance of MXTX. Attendance is free and open to the public. 

More Joy by Bostich

More Joy (MXTX Bonus Track) by Ramón Amezcua “Bostich”

“More Joy” from Ramón Amezcua “Bostich” is a special bonus track, commissioned by Ballroom Marfa, from the long-term project MXTX: A Cross-Border Exchange. The full album will be released this Spring — more news coming next week!


Transmissions Interview

Graham Reynolds talks with Diana Nyugen about his longstanding relationship with Ballroom Marfa and West Texas through The Marfa Triptych – Three Portraits of West Texas, and his latest project, MXTX.